APRC National Capital Rally Canberra: Ole Christian Veiby wins for ŠKODA MRF ahead of teammate Gaurav Gill


› Team ŠKODA MRF with second double victory in 2017 FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC)

› Ole Christian Veiby/Stig Rune Skjaermoen beating two-time APRC champion Gaurav Gill and co-driver Stéphane Prévot

› ŠKODA FABIA R5 drivers leading from start to finish


Canberra/Australia, 28 May 2017 – Second rally in Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC), same story: ŠKODA MRF teams Ole Christian Veiby/Stig Rune Skjaermoen (NOR/NOR) and Gaurav Gill/Stéphane Prévot (IND/BEL) were fighting right from the start for the victory. On the first day of the event, the lead changed several times between the two ŠKODA MRF drivers. On leg two OC Veiby pulled away and secured his maiden APRC victory.

The second round of the 2017 FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) took place around the host city of Canberra, the capital of Australia some 300 kilometres northwest of Sydney. In the past the Australian round of APRC was held around Queensland. After the event’s switch to the Canberra region none of the APRC regulars had the advantage of already knowing the event. Also for Team ŠKODA MRF and their drivers Gaurav Gill and Ole Christian Veiby the rally was completely new.

Two equally well prepared ŠKODA FABIA R5 and unknown stages were the ingredients for an epic fight between both ŠKODA MRF drivers. Reigning APRC champion Gaurav Gill scored the fastest time on the opening stage, but Ole Christian Veiby immediately fought back with the fastest time on the next one. The lead changed several times during day one. Gill scored four stage wins, Veiby three. At the end of leg one Veiby was in the lead with a margin of just eleven seconds. Gill struggled during the day with a small hole in the intercooler, probably causing some power loss and was not satisfied with the set up of his car. Veiby was totally happy: "Today has been really good. I have enjoyed the rally a lot so far, it’s something special. We had our issues as well today with a small puncture at the end of a stage, but all is going well."

At the evening service Gaurav Gill made some changes to the set up of his ŠKODA FABIA R5, but unfortunately they went into the wrong direction. As a consequence during the second leg Gill and co-driver Stéphane Prévot were no longer able to fight for victory. On the remaining five stages of the rally (stage 13 was cancelled due to weather affected roads) Ole Christian Veiby/Stig Rune Skjaermoen scored three fastest times on the way to their maiden APRC victory.

At the finish in Canberra Ole Christian Veiby was celebrating. "After our bad luck at the opening round of APRC in New Zeeland, I am more than happy to win here in Australia. Thanks to ŠKODA MRF for giving me such a fantastic car. My ŠKODA FABIA R5 was running like clockwork", Veiby concluded.

After two APRC rounds Ole Christian Veiby is leading the overall classification ahead of teammate Gaurav Gill. Due to logistical reasons, the scheduled next rally in China has been cancelled.

Therefore Malaysia and the city of Johor Bahru will host the third round of the Championship in August.

Final Result APRC National Capital Rally Canberra,

2nd round of FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship (APRC)

1. Veiby/Skjarmoen (NOR/NOR), ŠKODA FABIA R5, + 2:15:11.2 h

2. Gill/Prévot (IND/BEL), ŠKODA FABIA R5, + 0:49.3 min

3. Ketomaa/Mannisenmäki, (FIN/FIN), Mitsubishi Mirage AP4, + 2:05.6 min

4. Blomberg/Andersson (SWE/SWE), Mitsubishi Mirage AP4, + 14:19.0 min

5. Markovic/Feaver (AUS/AUS), Subaru Impreza WRX STi, + 15:36.6 min

6. Penny/Penny (AUS/AUS), Subaru Impreza WRX STi, + 17:33.7 min

Current standings APRC after two rounds

1. Veiby (NOR), ŠKODA, 70 points

2. Gill (IND), ŠKODA, 68 points

3. Blomberg (SWE), Mitsubishi, 44 points

4. Ketomaa (FIN), Mitsubishi, 30 points

Number of the day: 11

In 2017 the ŠKODA FABIA R5 was the winning car on all rounds of World Rally Championship/WRC 2 (6), Czech Rally Championship MČR (3) and Asia Pacific Rally Championship APRC (2), winning 11 events in total

Calendar of the 2017 FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship (APRC)

Event Date

Rally of Whangarei – New Zealand 28/04–30/04/2017

Rally Canberra - Australia 26/05–28/05/2017

China Rally (cancelled for APRC) 07/07–09/07/2017

Malaysian Rally 11/08–13/08/2017

Rally Hokkaido - Japan 15/09–17/09/2017

Rally of India 24/11–26/11/2017

Get updates in your mailbox

By clicking "Subscribe" I confirm I have read and agree to the Privacy Policy.

About ŠKODA Belgium

Press room ŠKODA Import (Belgium) for exclusive use for journalists.

Copyright: texts and pictures are free of rights for editorial content - No other use of texts and pictures is allowed. Information on prices and equipment is given for information purposes only. Information for the Belgian market can be found on the site : www.skoda.be.

Profile :

D'Ieteren Group:

Our purpose is to build a family of businesses that reinvent industries in search of excellence and meaningful impact.

More information about the D'Ieteren Group: https://www.dieterengroup.com/


Moving people forward

D'Ieteren is a key player in the societal changes impacting your mobility. In a changing world, we're preparing for the future. We're aiming to make the mobility of the future fluid and sustainable for all.

D’Ieteren is a socially responsible, family-owned company. For 215 years it has been tirelessly seeking out and deploying mobility solutions that transform everyday mobility for all. 

More information about D'Ieteren: https://www.dieteren.be/en/


Information Regarding Personal Data and How it is Processed: https://www.dieteren.be/media/...


Industriepark Guldendelle Arthur Deconinckstraat 3 B-3070 Kortenberg

+32 2 233 79 89