ŠKODA defends WRC 2 Title again

ŠKODA defends WRC 2 Title again

› Jan Kopecký and Pavel Dresler crown fantastic season with WRC 2 title
› ŠKODA crews won eleven out of 13 WRC 2 rounds of the FIA World Rally Championship
2018, including four double wins for ŠKODA Motorsport factory team
› For the third time in a row a ŠKODA works crew won WRC 2 Drivers Championship
› ŠKODA factory drivers conquer top three places of the WRC 2 overall standings
› After 2015, 2016 und 2017 ŠKODA Motorsport again secures WRC 2 Team Championship

Prague, 27 November 2018 – Game, set and match for ŠKODA Motorsport: Jan
Kopecký/Pavel Dresler (CZE/CZE) became WRC 2 champions, 2017 winners Pontus
Tidemand/Jonas Andersson finished second overall, and youngsters Kalle Rovanperä/
Jonne Halttunen (FIN/FIN) complete a pure ŠKODA podium in the final standings of the 2018
FIA World Rally Championship’s WRC 2 category. For the fourth time in a row ŠKODA
Motorsport won the WRC 2 Championship for Teams (all titles subject to official publication of
the results by the FIA). Overall, 2018 was the most successful year in the history of ŠKODA
Time to celebrate at the annual Motorsport Press Conference of ŠKODA Motorsport in Prague: By
winning the WRC 2 Championship for Drivers as well as Co-drivers for the third time in a row and
also conquering the WRC 2 Team Championship for the fourth consecutive time, ŠKODA
Motorsport topped the already successful 2017 season. The ŠKODA factory drivers Jan Kopecký,
Pontus Tidemand and Kalle Rovanperä occupy the top three places of the WRC 2 final standings.
But not only on FIA World Rally Championship level ŠKODA crews collected victories and titles.
The success story of the Czech brand took place worldwide. Scoring victories on all five rounds,
one team dominated the 2018 FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) – ŠKODA driver
Yuya Sumiyama and navigator Takahiro Yasui from Japan. Their Team Cusco’s achievements
seamless continued the success, ŠKODA Motorsport factory supported teams celebrated during
the past years in the Asia Pacific region. Achieving an APRC hat trick from 2012 to 2014 with the
normally aspirated ŠKODA FABIA S2000, the following years the Czech brand added four titles in a
row with the turbo-powered ŠKODA FABIA R5.
Manvir Singh Baryan/Drew Sturrock (KEN/GBR) won the FIA African Rally Championship (ARC).
Scoring four victories with their privately entered ŠKODA FABIA R5, they could repeat last year’s
After winning the FIA South American Rally Championship (CODASUR) in 2013, 2016 and 2017,
ŠKODA crew Gustavo Saba/Fernando Mussano (PRY/ARG) again were successful. Among their
three victories, first place of the CODASUR category at the FIA World Rally Championship round in
Argentina was their season highlight.
In the FIA European Rally Championship (ERC), the three top spots of the Under 28 category
(for drivers under 28 years old, driving a R5 car) were conquered by ŠKODA FABIA R5 drivers.
Nikolay Gryazin/Yaroslav Fedorov (RUS/RUS) won from Chris Ingram/Dave Whittock (GBR/GBR)
and Fabian Kreim/Frank Christian (DEU/DEU). On top of that, 17 national Championships were
won by ŠKODA crews.

Overview Titles and Championships won by ŠKODA teams in 2018:
FIA World Rally Championship (WRC 2)
FIA WRC 2 Champions Driver/Co-driver: Jan Kopecký/Pavel Dresler (CZE/CZE)
FIA WRC 2 Team Championship: ŠKODA Motorsport
FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship (APRC)
Championship for Driver and Co-driver: Yuya Sumiyama/ Takahiro Yasui (JPN/JPN)
APRC Cup for Manufacturers: ŠKODA
APRC Teams Award: Team Cusco
FIA South American Rally Championship (CODASUR)
Championship for Driver/Co-driver: Gustavo Saba/Fernando Mussano (PRY/ARG)
FIA African Rally Championship (ARC)
Championship for Driver/Co-driver: Manvir Singh Baryan/Drew Sturrock (KEN/GB)
ARC Manufacturer Cup: ŠKODA
FIA European Rally Championship (ERC), U28 category
Championship for Driver/Co-driver: Nikolay Gryazin/Y aroslav Fedorov (RUS/RUS)
National Championships
Australia Eli Evans/Ben Searcy (AUS/AUS)
Belgium Kris Princen/Bram Eelbode (BEL/BEL)
Bulgaria Miroslav Angelov/Nidialko Sivov (BGR/BGR)
Croatia Krisztián Hideg/István Kerék (HRV/HRV)
Cyprus Simos Galatariotis/Antonis Ioannou (CYP/CYP)
Czech Republic Jan Kopecký/Pavel Dresler (CZE/CZE)
Finland Eerik Pietarinen/Juhana Raitanen (FIN/FIN)
France (Gravel) Sylvain Michel (FRA)/Jerome Degout (FRA)
Lebanon Roger Feghali/Joseph Matar (LBN/LBN)
Netherlands Hermen Kobus/Erik de Wild (NLD/NLD)
Paraguay Gustavo Saba/Fernando Mussano (PRY/ARG)
Poland Grzegorz Grzyb/JakubVróbel (POL/POL)
Slowakia Martin Koči/Radovan Mozner Jun. (SVK/SVK)
Spain (Gravel) Xavier Pons/Diego Sanjuan (ESP/ESP)
Sweden Martin Berglund/Joakim Gevert (SWE/SWE)
Switzerland Ivan Ballinari/Paolo Pianca (CHE/CHE)
Turkey Burak Cukurova/Vedat Bostanci (TUR/TUR)

Contact us
About ŠKODA Belgium

Press room ŠKODA Import (Belgium) for exclusive use for journalists.

Copyright: texts and pictures are free of rights for editorial content - No other use of texts and pictures is allowed. Information on prices and equipment is given for information purposes only. Information for the Belgian market can be found on the site : www.skoda.be.

Profile :

D'Ieteren Group:

Our purpose is to build a family of businesses that reinvent industries in search of excellence and meaningful impact.

More information about the D'Ieteren Group: https://www.dieterengroup.com/


Moving people forward

D'Ieteren is a key player in the societal changes impacting your mobility. In a changing world, we're preparing for the future. We're aiming to make the mobility of the future fluid and sustainable for all.

D’Ieteren is a socially responsible, family-owned company. For 215 years it has been tirelessly seeking out and deploying mobility solutions that transform everyday mobility for all. 

More information about D'Ieteren: https://www.dieteren.be/en/


Information Regarding Personal Data and How it is Processed: https://www.dieteren.be/media/...

ŠKODA Belgium
Industriepark Guldendelle
Arthur Deconinckstraat 3
B-3070 Kortenberg